Millet and quinoa baby food

April 12, 2009 at 3:18 pm | Posted in Uncatogorized | 4 Comments

Before I had my daughter, I paid scant attention to healthy, organic food. The consensus was that anything healthy would taste bad.  I never considered the nutritional values stored in whole grains. I strongly believed that the food I ate daily was good enough. Then my daughter came along. A fragile little thing whose daily food intake but was a fraction of what I took per meal. So, I had to plan carefully what I put into her food … it had to have everything she needed to grow big and healthy. I did a lot of research and came across millet and quinoa. Among the sites I checked out are:

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-millet.htm

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-quinoa.htm

Prior to using millet and quinoa, I fed my girl a staple of steamed fragrant rice. The rice was supplemented with finely ground meat and vegetables. Nevertheless, I was not happy that she took so little and wanted to supplement her food further. I looked up millet and quinoa and found them to be rich in protein, iron, potassium, vitamins and minerals.

millet1
Millet
pic-of-quinoa
quinoa

I had to overcome the nutty flavor inherent in millet and quinoa. In addition, both had a slightly rough texture. Adults don’t really mind it, but children tend to detest it. I tried many different mixture ratios before I hit jackpot. I found that my girl would accept a ratio of 10:1:1 of fragrant rice: millet: quinoa.

rice, millet and quinoa mixture

rice, millet and quinoa mixture

This ratio allows the rice’s fragrant texture to mask that of the grains. Also, after steaming, fluffy rice tends to soften the roughness of the grains.

steaming mixture in the rice cooker

steaming mixture in the rice cooker

Although you may think that I use too little, you must remember that these grains are just a daily natural supplement. And given in every meal, natural supplements are always better than artificially produced ones, in my book.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Original post by Erica Sam […]

  2. Wow what a great blog! If anyone is looking for healthy meal plans This is one of my favorite health & fitness sites. It lets you track food, workouts, and calories!

  3. u have a really great blog. the ideas u have hear i never saw before.
    good work.
    i love the recipes.

    thanks

  4. I like the smell of cooked millet 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

